The Reluctant Researcher

“Beauty can be seen in all things, seeing and composing the beauty is what separates the snapshot from the photograph.”

-Matt Hardy

As a natural born skeptic, I like to think of myself as a dedicated researcher. Not your typical bookworm but I do enjoy keeping myself properly informed. Here’s the kicker: I only enjoy topics I’m interested in.

Makes sense right?

You know, pray for the newest John Mayer music to come out. (Although, listening to some good old Your Body Is A Wonderland also does the trick.) Take on my lengthening list of books I need to read before I die. I would even go through the hassle of cleaning my room before getting something important such as I don’t know, homework done.

Get ready, this is where the fun begins.

I’ve come to the realization that I need to begin taking ahold of my surroundings. If I don’t enjoy what I’m doing with my life then there needs to be some changes made. I’ve been told, “Do what you love and the money will come”. Luckily, my interests are steadily growing and this can only pose a positive outlook for my future. My future can currently be summarized in a simple hypothesis: As the interests become more interesting, the boredom becomes less likely.

Taking into careful consideration the amount of free time most college students have nowadays, I found it imperative to locate three sources that have concise but relevant information.  So here it is! I have composed a list not only necessary for the beginners but for anyone looking to sharpen their creative eye.

– Image via dummies.com

3. Digital Photography for Dummies, 6th Edition by Julie Andair King & Serg Timacheff

-I know, I know it sounds painfully obvious! The upside to this read is that it is an overall guide to modern day photography. Although developing real film is a talent I would love to one-day learn, we are living in a digitally photogenic world. This guide breaks it down for us camera cubs.

2.  11 Tips for Beginner Photographers by Darren Rowse

-Once your eyes adjust to the overwhelming amount of advertisements on the page, you quickly realize what this person has to say is extremely helpful! Also, it never hurts to hear from your fellow blogging man when it comes to learning the ropes.

http://www.digital-photography-school.com/11-tips-for-beginner-photographers

1. Look around! Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Create memories. Watch out for the wondrous. Imagine the world through another person’s eyes. Then, pull out your camera (that you should always have on you!) and start looking at your world through the lens.

- Image via Flikr.com

8 Responses

  1. I find you blog intriguing. I think that I could really learn from this blog. I wish you continued success and I hope you enjoy working on this blog.

  2. I don’t think it’s just you that is going to be learning from your experiences. I feel that as you keep writing you are really charing helpful hints towards understanding photography past it’s Facebook official status. ( Meaning snapshots that are not very impressive)

  3. I love the quote “do what you love and the money will follow.” This is something I’m trying to carry out with my career. Too many times students go to school to become something for all the wrong reasons; parents pushing you to become something; wanting to make a lot of money; doing something your peers think you should do. I hope more people continue to read your blog because it has some great nuggets of wisdom! Follow your dreams!

  4. Lauren, I too hope for new John Mayer music and one day (soon!) we’ll both be gifted with his newest creations! Maybe we can have a listening party? “Edge of Desire”, “Slow Dancing in a Burning Room”, and “Vultures” (all off of the Live in L.A. album of course) are the songs I listen to religiously (at the moment I’m listening to “Belief”). Continuum Part II will soon be released.

    I share your hobby of putting aside the scholarly assignments- I would encourage you to put the pencil and calculator down, pick up your camera and head outside! You can also check out (photo, not video) cameras and lenses from the lab on the sixth floor (it’s a little secret I was informed of) if you’re enrolled in videography at the moment (hope the secret is real!). Just a little tip for you! And, with your quote, (my favorite from the posting) “My future can currently be summarized in a simple hypothesis: As the interests become more interesting, the boredom becomes less likely” I know that you will be taking control of the camera very soon! Good luck Lauren!

  5. Lauren! I totally love this blog you have created. I am just starting my first photo journalism class this semester and am hopeing that I will soon me a pro at something (photography) I am so in love with. I am going to follow your blog closely in hopes that you can also educate me with your experience in this new hobby of ours.

    Emily

  6. Another good post Lauren! Now that you’re building your foundation to be a candid camera woman, I’m excited to see some of the shots 🙂

  7. I reallly love your blog! It is so different and creative. I also love all the great quotes you use. Keep up the great work!

  8. Thank you everyone! I really appreciate all of the support and readership my blog is gaining 🙂 I only hope to live up to your high expectations!

Leave a Reply

