A Gray Life, Not So Blue After All

“Life is like a good black and white photograph. There’s black, there’s white and there’s lots of shade in between.”

-Karl Heiner

Energetic. Hilarious. Loving.

Oli.

The one name that I can always count on. He is by far one of the most exciting aspects of my life. Always there to greet me when I return home and never fails to amuse me just when I need it. Without sounding too much like a lonely old woman, I feel it’s only right that I admit I am speaking of our family dog. He’s the perfect bundle of Chihuahua joy—minus the annoying stereotype most of his kind are associated with.

As I sat with him in my lap earlier this week, I got to thinking that he’ll never see the world the way the rest of us do. Of course, it is a myth that dogs solely see in black and white but that doesn’t change the fact that they are in fact partially color blind. Imagine for a moment that you are Oli—the victim of vision almost similar to an “I Love Lucy” re-run. But is he really the victim here? Or are the rest of us too blinded by the color spectrum to see beauty in its rawest form?

This week, I decided to start looking at my surroundings the way he would. Capturing photos in black and white changes how you look at things. Most digital cameras nowadays have the option of switching over to a colorless setting and if you don’t have one on yours any photo editing software should. So jump on the Oli-Trolley and take a look at what we saw on our walk around our neighborhood.

Four numbers. One home.
Something about stop signs always sparks a potty break.
Fire hydrants also have the same effect…

At the end of each day, no matter what it was like, I’m reminded how simple an act of kindness can be. From a lick on the cheek to not peeing on my bed, Oli truly does it all …

 

This post is for you, pup.

9 Responses

  1. This is the cutest blog EVER! It kind of made me sad though. I had a dachshund named Oliver. His nickname was Ollie and it made me think of him. This is a really cool post. I like how you’re looking to take photos through the eyes of not another human, but an animal. It’s very creative!

    – Marissa 🙂

    • Is there anyting else we have in common woman?! I love that we share a commonality over our Olivers. Sweetness just seems to ooze right out of them 🙂

  2. I love this post..you took photography to a different level. Without plainly stating what you were teaching us you, you taught us to view the world in someone else’s eyes. Very well done.

    Emily

    • The idea really just hit me while I was sitting at home watching tv. I knew I had wanted to do a black and white post for that week and instantly thought of my sweet little Oliver’s sight as inspiration!

  3. I liked the way that you focused your blog around the vision of someone else. I also liked how you made the pictures through the eyes of your dog. Great job.

    • Thanks Eddie! I hope you noticed that I included your blog topic in my post. Even Oli does random acts of kindness 🙂

  4. Two things. One: I love your new background for your blog! Two: You always leave me wanting more and more after each blog! I love your captions and just how quirky you are with everything you write about! It makes it so readable! You’re wolverine-ish dog is awesome, and I cannot wait until your next blog!

    • I’m glad you noticed 🙂 It took a while for me to find one that I could remain happy with for a while. But I’m so indecisive that it will most likely change in a few weeks anyway! As far as Oli being a wolverine, that’s almost a Ryan Reynolds comparison. Which is an awkward compliment to my dog… But I’ll take it!

  5. I absolutely enjoyed your blog. I am a huge fan of black and white photography and you touched my soft spot through this post. As I had mentioned in our class that I have a strong fear toward dogs, you just eased it up through this blog :).

Leave a Reply

