Playing Dead pt. 1

“Where there is no imagination there is no horror.”

-Arthur Conan Doyle, Sr.

With Halloween right around the corner, I found myself at a loss for what I will be doing on the night of the 31st. One, it falls on a Monday this year. Two, I have work and school the next day. Three, I am a humble college student—unafraid to admit that my bank account survives on a biweekly basis.

Regardless of what All Hallows Eve will bring me, what I’m really excited for is the haunted house I will be a part of! On Wednesday October 26th, you can find me at ASU’s West Campus as a zombie ballerina—dancing my way through the various rooms of doom.

This is an experience that I cannot wait to share! Coincidently, it poses as a rare photo opportunity and I plan on documenting the whole night in its entirety. Not to toot my own horn, but the fact that I get to have a role in this production is beyond cool. I mean c’mon, how many people can say that they were one of the freaks in a haunted house?

Depending on who you’re asking that answer might vary…

Alright, since you’re wondering how I plan on executing this masterpiece, allow me to explain. Imagine Natalie Portman as Black Swan and the little zombie girl in Dawn of the Dead want to be each other for Halloween. They would look a little something like this.

Photo Credit- curiousphotos.blogspot.com

I’ve always loved Halloween but as I’ve gotten older, it saddens me to realize that this holiday sometimes loses its meaning. Screaming your lungs out. Uncontrolled heart beats. Loss of bladder control.

If peeing on yourself in public doesn’t scare you I don’t know what will.

Anyway, be sure to check back next week to see how my debut as a dead dancer turns out!

-Lauren

4 Responses

  1. Looking forward to your photos after your big event!!

    • I am too Pam! Thanks for following my progress on here 🙂

  2. This is super cool! A combination of two different Halloween ideas is what keeps me eager to know how it all turns out. I sure will follow your progress on the coming dramatic entry 😉

  3. I wish I could come to this! Unfortunately, I’ll be in Ethics on Wednesday night 😉 But I cannot wait to see the pictures that will follow the event! Oh and P.S. – I think peeing yourself in public is scary, too. It probably has to be one of the scariest things that can happen besides seeing a zombie ballerina. Keep up the great work, and good luck with the haunted house!

Leave a Reply

