Step Into My Office

Everyone has a photographic memory, but not everyone has film.

-Author Unknown

I’ve recently realized that I’ve never expressed exactly what it is that I do. Sure, I’ve mentioned that I am a student at the Cronkite School, but I am also extremely involved on campus. I currently hold two part-time jobs in addition to taking a full course load on campus as well as a class at a local community college. This is actually the first time in my life where I had to plan a lunch break in my schedule!

When first planning out my schedule over the summer, my fall semester appeared pretty intimidating. The nerves began to kick in and I found myself wondering, how will I ever survive these next 15 weeks? Luckily, I got over that once I finally got to experience what it feels like to be a true Sun Devil.

Take a look at what it means to live the life of Lauren Guzman. Well actually, this is more what a Thursday afternoon looks like but you’ll get the gist of it.

From 12-5pm you can find me on the 3rd floor of UCENT- assisting to the needs of those who approach the University College/School of Letters & Sciences desk. Just call me your more than average front desk girl!

This job consists of many secretarial duties that help me utilize my relations to the public in a positive learning environment. I also get to interact with many of my professors and now know them on a more personal level.

Another huge aspect of my other job is event planning. I'm the Special Events Director for the Programming and Activities Board (PAB) at the Downtown Campus. Our most recent event, "MOVE IT! MOVE IT!" showcased student talent as well as promoted healthy lifestyle choices.

Partnerships with other organizations on campus are a great way to incorporate the values of other students. RHA, the residence hall association, had free reusable water bottles to hand out at this event.

Seeking business relations outside of ASU is also an important element to PAB. Popchips is not only a healthy alternative snack but they are also very engaged in attending college events to promote their product.

However, in the end, all that truly matters is that those who attended had a good time! PAB aims to provide programs that are memorable and above all enjoyable to the students.

Word to the wise: Find a job that you actually like.

It will make for happier and more exciting memories!

Until next time 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Your pictures are great! I love how you use foreground and background in your pictures, especially with all of the colorful objects photographed. You definitely have a bright future in photography! It’s just a suggestion, but maybe you could do a blog on how you decide on what you photograph, as well as how you frame everything.

    Oh, and P.S.- You life seems very glamourous 😉

    • Well, thank you for confusing me with lingo I’m unfamiliar with. But seriously, I appreciate your suggestion! Most of the time I gain inspiration right on the spot but that can get tricky to interpret if you’re an outsider looking in.

      P.S. Yes, yes my life is nothing but glamorous 🙂

Leave a Reply

